healthrx.com

Farxiga Prescribing Information: 2020-2026 Label Updates

Medical lab testing image for Farxiga Prescribing Information: 2020-2026 Label Updates
Image: HealthRX.com clinical image

Dapagliflozin is a sodium-glucose cotransporter-2 (SGLT2) inhibitor sold in the United States as Farxiga and in the European Union as Forxiga (AstraZeneca). It is an oral tablet, available in 5 mg and 10 mg strengths, and it belongs to the same drug class as empagliflozin (Jardiance) and canagliflozin (Invokana). This article tracks how the FDA-approved indication for dapagliflozin changed between 2020 and 2026, and separates what the label actually states from what trial evidence, guideline bodies, and post-market surveillance have added around it.

Direct answer: Between 2020 and 2023, the FDA expanded the Farxiga label three times: a heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (HFrEF) indication in May 2020, a chronic kidney disease (CKD) indication in April 2021, and a broadened heart failure indication covering the full ejection fraction range in May 2023. As of this writing, no indication has been added or removed since 2023, and the label carries no boxed warning. Readers should verify the current label text directly at the FDA's Drugs@FDA database before making clinical decisions, since prescribing information is revised periodically and this summary reflects publicly reported approval milestones, not a live label feed.

The useful question for most readers is not "what does Farxiga treat" but "which specific indication is a given patient's prescription covering, and does that indication carry a different eGFR floor, dosing rationale, or trial evidence base than the others." The three indications are not interchangeable, and mixing them up affects both eligibility discussions and prior authorization paperwork.

How dapagliflozin's label grew beyond diabetes

The FDA granted dapagliflozin its initial approval on January 8, 2014, for use alongside diet and exercise to improve blood sugar control in adults with type 2 diabetes. This initial indication was restricted to blood glucose reduction. Beginning in 2018, major trials demonstrated cardiovascular and kidney benefits for the SGLT2 inhibitor class, leading to three FDA supplemental approvals for dapagliflozin between 2018 and 2023 that expanded its label to include heart failure and chronic kidney disease. As of 2023, dapagliflozin carries FDA approval for type 2 diabetes, heart failure regardless of ejection fraction, and CKD in patients with or without diabetes. Compared to other SGLT2 inhibitors, dapagliflozin's approved uses are notably expansive, yet a broad label does not necessarily indicate clinical superiority over competing agents, a distinction explored in the evidence-boundary section that follows.

May 2020: heart failure with reduced ejection fraction

On May 5, 2020, the FDA approved dapagliflozin 10 mg to reduce cardiovascular death and heart failure hospitalization in adults with HFrEF, independent of diabetes status. This was the first HFrEF indication granted to any SGLT2 inhibitor.

The supporting trial was DAPA-HF, a large randomized, double-blind trial in patients with reduced ejection fraction and NYHA class II-IV symptoms. The published trial reported a lower rate of the composite primary endpoint (worsening heart failure or cardiovascular death) in the dapagliflozin arm compared with placebo, with the benefit reported as consistent regardless of baseline diabetes status. Readers who need the exact event rates, hazard ratio, and confidence interval for clinical or academic use should pull the original New England Journal of Medicine publication directly, since this article does not carry a verified link to the primary paper and specific numeric figures should not be treated as confirmed from this summary alone.

April 2021: chronic kidney disease

On April 30, 2021, the FDA approved dapagliflozin to reduce the risk of sustained eGFR decline, kidney failure, cardiovascular death, and heart failure hospitalization in adults with CKD at risk of progression. Notably, this indication does not require a type 2 diabetes diagnosis, which made Farxiga the first SGLT2 inhibitor approved for CKD in patients with and without diabetes.

The supporting trial, DAPA-CKD, enrolled patients across a range of reduced kidney function and albuminuria and was reportedly stopped early at a planned interim analysis because of a clear efficacy signal. Early stopping for efficacy in a large renal outcomes trial is unusual and suggests the effect size exceeded what the trial's data safety monitoring board expected, but the exact hazard ratio and event rates require verification against the published trial report before being cited precisely.

A meaningful prescribing detail: the CKD indication carries a lower eGFR floor for starting the drug (approximately 25 mL/min/1.73 m²) than the original diabetes indication (approximately 45 mL/min/1.73 m²). This reflects the CKD trial's enrollment criteria rather than a universal safety threshold, and it is one of the more common sources of confusion when a patient's chart lists multiple indications.

Guideline bodies, including KDIGO's diabetes-and-CKD guidance, have subsequently recommended SGLT2 inhibitors as part of first-line management in appropriate CKD populations. That is a guideline recommendation layered on top of, not a substitute for, the FDA label's specific eligibility criteria, and the two should not be assumed identical.

May 2023: heart failure across the ejection fraction spectrum

On May 26, 2023, the FDA expanded the heart failure indication to cover patients with heart failure regardless of ejection fraction, based on the DELIVER trial in patients with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction. Before DELIVER, no drug therapy had shown a clearly positive, guideline-changing effect specifically in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF), a population that had been difficult to treat pharmacologically. The 2023 label change removed the prior distinction between HFrEF and broader heart failure, so the current label simply lists "heart failure" as the indication.

The 2022 AHA/ACC/HFSA heart failure guideline had already given SGLT2 inhibitors a favorable recommendation in HFpEF based on emerging trial data, and the 2023 FDA label update aligned the approved indication with that guideline position. This is a case where guideline and regulatory timelines converged closely, but the guideline recommendation and the FDA indication are still two distinct kinds of evidence: one reflects an expert body's synthesis and judgment, the other reflects a specific regulatory determination tied to a defined trial population.

Safety label changes: DKA, Fournier's gangrene, and urinary tract infections

Several safety-related label changes during this period applied to the SGLT2 inhibitor class broadly rather than to dapagliflozin alone.

Diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). SGLT2 inhibitor labels, including Farxiga's, warn about euglycemic DKA, meaning ketoacidosis that can occur even when blood glucose is not markedly elevated. Prescribers are advised to evaluate for ketoacidosis in patients presenting with nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain, or malaise regardless of glucose level, and to consider temporarily withholding the drug before scheduled surgery and during acute serious illness as described in an FDA drug safety communication on SGLT2 inhibitors. Exact case counts from FDA's adverse event surveillance that are sometimes cited for this warning should be verified against the FDA's own published safety communications rather than repeated from secondary summaries.

Fournier's gangrene. A warning about this rare but serious necrotizing infection of the genital and perineal area was added to SGLT2 inhibitor labels in 2018 and has been retained through subsequent revisions as described in an FDA safety alert on Fournier's gangrene with SGLT2 inhibitors. The condition is rare, but the FDA's original alert described a disproportionate number of postmarketing reports compared with other diabetes drug classes. Specific case counts change as surveillance continues and should be pulled from the current FDA page rather than treated as fixed.

Urinary tract infections. The label lists serious UTIs, including urosepsis and pyelonephritis, as a warning and precaution, with guidance to monitor patients with a history of recurrent UTIs and consider discontinuation if a serious infection develops.

Amputation. Unlike canagliflozin, which carried a boxed warning for lower-limb amputation from 2017 until it was removed in 2020, dapagliflozin's label has not carried an amputation warning. The DAPA-HF and DAPA-CKD trial populations did not show an amputation signal for dapagliflozin, though this is an absence of signal in those specific trials rather than proof that no risk exists in all populations.

Post-market surveillance and the European comparison

The FDA's Sentinel System is an active surveillance program that uses electronic health record and insurance claims data to monitor marketed drugs, including SGLT2 inhibitors, for safety signals that may not have been apparent in trials (FDA Sentinel Initiative). Published descriptions of Sentinel's SGLT2 inhibitor monitoring indicate ongoing surveillance for DKA, acute kidney injury, and related outcomes, without describing a new safety signal that required an additional label change for dapagliflozin beyond what is already reflected in current labeling. Readers who need a specific incidence rate for DKA or another outcome from Sentinel data should consult FDA's published Sentinel reports directly, since precise rate figures require verification and are not reproduced reliably in secondary sources.

The European Medicines Agency reviews dapagliflozin (marketed in the EU as Forxiga) through its own assessment process and has extended comparable indications for heart failure and CKD, with the EPAR serving as the authoritative EU-side document (EMA EPAR for Forxiga). The general pattern of FDA and EMA reaching similar conclusions on this drug class reflects the fact that both agencies reviewed largely the same multinational trial data, not necessarily a formal joint review process.

How Farxiga's label compares with other SGLT2 inhibitors

By the early 2020s, more than one SGLT2 inhibitor had accumulated cardiovascular and renal indications. Empagliflozin (Jardiance) received an HFrEF indication and a CKD indication after dapagliflozin did, following its own separate outcome trials. Canagliflozin (Invokana) holds a diabetic kidney disease indication but has not received a heart failure indication independent of diabetes status.

This timing difference is a real regulatory fact, but it is worth being precise about what it does and does not mean clinically. Farxiga's earlier approvals reflect when its sponsor's outcome trials reported results and when the FDA reviewed those applications, not necessarily a larger or more durable treatment effect than its class peers. The AHA/ACC/HFSA heart failure guideline gives SGLT2 inhibitors as a class a strong recommendation in HFrEF, without singling out one agent as superior. Prescribers choosing between agents in a patient with overlapping eligibility are generally choosing based on formulary access, cost, and specific trial population match, not a demonstrated head-to-head clinical advantage, since dapagliflozin and empagliflozin have not been directly compared against each other in a randomized outcomes trial for these indications to this article's knowledge.

What is established, what is plausible, and what is not established

Established by FDA action: dapagliflozin's approved indications now include type 2 diabetes, heart failure (any ejection fraction), and CKD with or without diabetes, added in that order between 2020 and 2023. No boxed warning currently applies to Farxiga. The eGFR threshold for initiating the CKD indication is lower than the threshold used for the original diabetes indication.

Plausible but not proven as a general clinical rule: that dapagliflozin's cardio-renal benefit mechanism is fully independent of its glucose-lowering effect. Trial authors have proposed this based on consistent benefit across diabetes subgroups, but a mechanism proposed from subgroup consistency is not the same as a confirmed mechanistic pathway.

Not established: any claim that dapagliflozin is more clinically effective than empagliflozin for a given patient, since the two have not been directly compared in a randomized trial for these indications. Also not established from the material reviewed here: precise, current adverse-event incidence rates (DKA, Fournier's gangrene) specific to dapagliflozin alone versus the SGLT2 class, which change as more surveillance data accumulate and should be pulled from FDA's own updated communications rather than treated as fixed figures.

Indication verification framework: what to check before assuming Farxiga applies

Because dapagliflozin now carries three separate indications with different eligibility rules, the most common real-world error is applying the wrong indication's criteria to a patient. Use this sequence before assuming a prescription, prior authorization, or patient counseling point is correct.

StepQuestion to answerWhy it matters
1. Identify the documented indicationIs the prescription written for type 2 diabetes, heart failure, or CKD?Each indication has its own eGFR rule, dosing rationale, and trial evidence base; formulary and prior-authorization requirements often differ by indication.
2. Check the eGFR against the correct thresholdDiabetes indication: do not initiate below approximately 45 mL/min/1.73 m². CKD indication: initiation threshold is lower, approximately 25 mL/min/1.73 m². Heart failure indication: the label does not specify a separate eGFR floor.Using the diabetes threshold for a CKD patient, or vice versa, can lead to inappropriately withholding or continuing therapy.
3. Confirm diabetes status is not being assumedBoth the CKD and heart failure indications apply regardless of diabetes status.A patient without diabetes is still eligible under these indications if the specific trial-based criteria are met; do not exclude based on diabetes status alone.
4. Screen for DKA risk factors before surgery or acute illnessHas the patient had a recent illness, reduced oral intake, or an upcoming surgical procedure?Euglycemic DKA can occur without high blood glucose; current guidance supports temporarily withholding the drug around surgery and acute illness.
5. Ask about genital or perineal symptomsNew pain, swelling, redness, or fever in the genital or perineal regionFournier's gangrene is rare but rapidly progressive; this is one of the few SGLT2 inhibitor complications that warrants urgent same-day evaluation, not routine follow-up.
6. Verify the current label before relying on any specific numberPull the current FDA-approved label from Drugs@FDA rather than a secondary summaryPrescribing information is revised periodically; specific numeric thresholds, warning language, and trial citations should be confirmed against the live document, not an article.

This sequence does not replace individualized clinical judgment or a pharmacist or prescriber's review of the current label. It is meant to catch the specific, recurring mix-up between the three indications' eligibility rules.

When to seek urgent care

Farxiga is not associated with a common acute overdose emergency, but two specific symptom patterns warrant urgent same-day evaluation: signs of ketoacidosis (nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain, unusual fatigue, or rapid breathing, with or without high blood sugar), and any new pain, swelling, or redness in the genital or perineal area, which could indicate Fournier's gangrene and requires emergency evaluation, not a routine appointment.

Frequently asked questions

When was Farxiga FDA approved?
Dapagliflozin (Farxiga) received its original FDA approval on January 8, 2014, for glycemic control in type 2 diabetes. The FDA later approved additional indications for heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (May 2020), chronic kidney disease (April 2021), and heart failure across all ejection fractions (May 2023).
Is Farxiga approved for heart failure without diabetes?
Yes. The FDA's heart failure indication for Farxiga, first granted in 2020 and expanded in 2023, does not require a diabetes diagnosis and applies based on heart failure status alone.
What eGFR is needed to start Farxiga?
It depends on the indication. The original type 2 diabetes indication generally requires an eGFR at or above approximately 45 mL/min/1.73 m² to initiate. The chronic kidney disease indication allows initiation at a lower eGFR, around 25 mL/min/1.73 m² or above. The heart failure indication does not specify a separate eGFR floor on the label. Always confirm against the current FDA label rather than this summary.
Does Farxiga have a boxed warning?
As of this writing, Farxiga does not carry an FDA boxed warning. Its warnings and precautions section addresses diabetic ketoacidosis, Fournier's gangrene, and serious urinary tract infections. This differs from canagliflozin, which carried a boxed warning for lower-limb amputation from 2017 until it was removed in 2020.
Can Farxiga be used for CKD in someone without diabetes?
Yes. The April 2021 CKD indication does not require a type 2 diabetes diagnosis, and the supporting DAPA-CKD trial included participants both with and without diabetes.
How does Farxiga's label compare to Jardiance?
Farxiga received its heart failure and CKD indications earlier than Jardiance (empagliflozin), which received comparable indications afterward. This reflects the sequence in which each drug's outcome trials reported results, and it should not be read as proof that one drug is more effective than the other, since the two have not been directly compared in a head-to-head outcomes trial.
Was Farxiga ever considered for type 1 diabetes?
AstraZeneca pursued a type 1 diabetes indication for dapagliflozin, and public reporting has described the FDA declining approval over DKA risk concerns in that population. Readers who need the precise regulatory history and any subsequent European decisions should verify directly with FDA and EMA records, since the exact sequence of events requires confirmation beyond what is summarized here.

References

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Drug Safety and Availability (general index, including SGLT2 inhibitor updates). https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-safety-and-availability
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Sentinel Initiative. https://www.fda.gov/safety/fdas-sentinel-initiative
  3. European Medicines Agency. Forxiga (dapagliflozin) European Public Assessment Report. https://www.ema.europa.eu/en/medicines/human/EPAR/forxiga

Trial names referenced in this article (DAPA-HF, DAPA-CKD, DELIVER) and guideline documents (KDIGO 2022, AHA/ACC/HFSA 2022) describe publicly reported studies and guidelines. Specific numeric results, exact publication dates, and case counts attributed to these sources should be verified against the primary journal articles and guideline documents before being used in patient-facing or regulatory content, since this draft could not independently confirm exact figures against a verified primary-source database.