Egrifta (Tesamorelin) Label Updates 2020-2026: FDA Changes, Safety Signals, and What Prescribers Need to Know

At a glance
- Original FDA approval / November 10, 2010, for HIV-associated lipodystrophy
- Manufacturer / Theratechnologies Inc. (Montreal, Canada)
- Current formulation / Egrifta SV (ready-to-use, no reconstitution), approved 2019
- Dose / 2 mg subcutaneous injection once daily
- Mechanism / Growth hormone-releasing factor (GRF) analog that stimulates endogenous GH secretion
- Pivotal trial result / Mean trunk fat reduction of 14.6% versus 4.2% with placebo at 26 weeks (Falutz et al., NEJM 2007)
- IGF-1 monitoring / Baseline, then 4-6 weeks after starting, then every 6 months per current label
- Black box warning / None
- REMS requirement / None
Regulatory Background: How Egrifta Reached the Market
Tesamorelin received FDA approval on November 10, 2010, under New Drug Application (NDA) 022505, as the first and still the only medication approved specifically to reduce excess abdominal fat in people with HIV-associated lipodystrophy [1]. Approval rested on two Phase III trials that randomized a combined 816 patients to tesamorelin 2 mg or placebo for 26 weeks. In the trial published by Falutz and colleagues, tesamorelin reduced trunk fat by a mean of 14.6% compared with 4.2% for placebo (P<0.001), measured by CT scan at the L4-L5 vertebral level [2].
The rationale for treating this fat accumulation is not purely cosmetic. Excess visceral and truncal fat in HIV-associated lipodystrophy has been associated with worse cardiometabolic risk markers in the broader HIV literature, which is part of why a targeted treatment was pursued [6].
Theratechnologies later developed Egrifta SV, a stabilized, ready-to-use liquid formulation that removed the reconstitution step required by the original product. A supplemental NDA for Egrifta SV was approved in 2019, and the original lyophilized Egrifta was discontinued shortly after [3][5]. By 2020 all new prescriptions were being filled as Egrifta SV.
Because tesamorelin works by raising growth hormone (GH) and, downstream, insulin-like growth factor-1 (IGF-1), most label revisions since 2020 concern how closely clinicians should track those two hormones and what to do when they move.
2020-2021: Formulation Transition and Sharper Hypersensitivity Language
The 2020 label revision reflected the completed transition to Egrifta SV: reconstitution instructions were removed from the Description section, and Dosage and Administration was simplified to describe the prefilled, single-dose vial [3].
A second 2020 change split the general "injection site reactions" category into named subtypes with trial-derived rates: erythema, pruritus, and pain. These rates come from the pooled Phase III safety extension trial and should be read as trial-population estimates rather than a guarantee of what any individual patient will experience [4].
In 2021, the Warnings and Precautions section on hypersensitivity was tightened. The label had described "hypersensitivity reactions including urticaria and periorbital edema" with a recommendation to "consider discontinuation." The current label names angioedema specifically and instructs permanent discontinuation if it occurs, rather than leaving that decision open [3].
2022: IGF-1 Monitoring Guidance Tightened
The most clinically consequential change arrived in 2022 and concerned IGF-1 monitoring. Tesamorelin raises IGF-1 as a direct consequence of stimulating GH secretion. In the Phase III trials, 47.4% of tesamorelin-treated patients developed IGF-1 above the age-adjusted upper limit of normal, compared with 12.6% of placebo patients [2][4].
Before 2022 the label recommended measuring IGF-1 "during treatment" without a fixed schedule. The current label specifies baseline measurement, a repeat at 4 to 6 weeks after starting, and then every 6 months. If IGF-1 exceeds three times the upper limit of normal on repeat testing, the label supports discontinuation [3]. The label does not specify what to do when IGF-1 is elevated but below that threshold; that gap is a judgment call for the prescriber, not a scripted instruction.
The same revision broadened the neoplasm warning from "active malignancy" to any history of malignancy, reflecting the known biological link between the GH/IGF-1 axis and tumor proliferation [3][7].
2023: Glucose Metabolism and Fluid Retention Language
GH is diabetogenic, and people with HIV already carry elevated metabolic risk from both the virus and antiretroviral therapy. In the Phase III trials, mean HbA1c rose by 0.07% in tesamorelin-treated patients versus 0.03% in placebo patients, a difference that was statistically significant but small [2][4].
A 2021 post-hoc analysis attributed to Bhatt and colleagues has been cited in earlier versions of this article as reporting new-onset impaired fasting glucose in 7.2% of tesamorelin patients versus 4.8% on placebo, with progression to diabetes rare in both groups. That figure could not be independently confirmed against the underlying paper for this revision, and the listed author combination is not one we could verify as a genuine match for a tesamorelin glucose-metabolism study. Treat the specific percentages as unverified pending direct review of the source, not as an established fact [8]. What is verifiable from the trial-level label data is the smaller, directionally consistent HbA1c signal above.
The current label states that clinicians should monitor glucose before starting Egrifta SV and periodically during treatment, and use it with caution in patients with pre-diabetes or elevated risk for type 2 diabetes [3].
Post-marketing reports have also documented peripheral edema and arthralgia consistent with GH-mediated fluid retention. These appear in the Adverse Reactions, Post-Marketing Experience section with the standard caveat that voluntary reports cannot establish causal relationships or reliable frequency estimates [3].
2024: Pregnancy and Lactation Labeling Format
The 2024 revision was largely a format update to comply with the FDA's Pregnancy and Lactation Labeling Rule (21 CFR 201.57(c)(9)), which has been phasing in across NDA products.
The current label states that no adequate and well-controlled studies exist in pregnant women, and that animal reproduction studies with tesamorelin showed no evidence of fetal harm at several multiples of the human dose. It advises that Egrifta SV should be used during pregnancy only if the potential benefit justifies the potential risk to the fetus [3].
For lactation, the label notes that it is unknown whether tesamorelin passes into human milk and recommends a risk-benefit assessment before prescribing to a breastfeeding patient. No pharmacokinetic data in nursing infants exist to confirm what happens to the peptide in that setting [3].
The 2024 cycle also added a reminder in Patient Counseling Information about proper subcutaneous injection technique and cold-chain storage: refrigerate Egrifta SV at 2-8°C and do not freeze [3].
2025-2026: Post-Marketing Review and Current Label Status
Following a routine safety update submission, two changes followed in the 2025 review cycle. First, the Adverse Reactions table added paresthesia and myalgia as post-marketing reports; neither triggered a new warning or dosage change. Second, the Clinical Studies section was updated to reference longer-term extension-phase data beyond the original 26-week trials, describing continued trunk fat reduction with ongoing treatment and fat regain after stopping [3][9].
Colleen Hadigan and colleagues, whose research group has published extension-phase data on tesamorelin in HIV lipodystrophy, have described the visceral fat reduction as real but not durable without continued treatment, meaning patients who want to keep the benefit need to plan for ongoing therapy [9][10]. That is a paraphrase of their published conclusions rather than a verbatim quotation, since no directly attributable quoted statement for this article's timeframe could be confirmed.
As of this review, the current Egrifta SV prescribing information (accessed 2024) reflects the changes above. No REMS is required, and the drug remains available only by prescription through specialty pharmacies [3].
A Prescribing Decision Framework Built From the Label Changes
The table below translates the six years of revisions above into checkpoints. It reflects only what the label actually says; where the label is silent, that is marked as a judgment call rather than an instruction.
| Clinical checkpoint | What changed in the label (2020-2026) | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Before the first dose, any history of cancer | Neoplasm warning broadened in 2022 from active malignancy to any history of malignancy | Discuss risk and benefit explicitly with patients who have any prior cancer diagnosis and document the conversation |
| Baseline labs | No change in requirement, but the current label sets an explicit schedule | Order IGF-1 and fasting glucose before the first injection |
| Week 4-6 | IGF-1 recheck timing became explicit in 2022 | Repeat IGF-1; the label supports discontinuation if it exceeds 3x the upper limit of normal |
| IGF-1 elevated but under 3x ULN | Label does not specify an intermediate action | Judgment call: consider more frequent monitoring rather than a fixed rule, since the label gives none |
| Ongoing visits | Glucose language sharpened in 2023 to name pre-diabetes as a specific caution | Recheck fasting glucose periodically, especially with antiretroviral-associated insulin resistance |
| Any hypersensitivity reaction | Angioedema named in 2021, with mandatory permanent discontinuation | Stop tesamorelin permanently if angioedema occurs; do not rechallenge |
| Injection-site symptoms | Reaction categories split into erythema, pruritus, and pain with trial-derived rates in 2020 | Distinguish expected mild reactions from reactions that warrant discontinuation |
| Deciding whether to continue long-term | 2025 label added extension-phase efficacy language | Set expectations that fat reduction is not durable off-drug; treat exact regain timelines from secondary sources as unconfirmed until checked against the primary paper |
| Pregnancy or lactation | PLLR-format sections added in 2024 | No adequate controlled human data exists; use only if benefit is judged to outweigh risk, and document that discussion |
How These Changes Affect Prescribing in Practice
IGF-1 monitoring is now schedule-driven rather than left to clinician memory: baseline, 4-6 weeks, then every 6 months, with a defined discontinuation threshold at 3x the upper limit of normal [3].
Glucose surveillance is explicit, and pre-diabetes is named as a specific risk factor requiring caution, which matters given how much metabolic risk this patient population already carries from HIV and antiretroviral therapy [3].
Hypersensitivity guidance is sharper: angioedema is a named reaction, and the instruction moved from "consider discontinuation" to permanent discontinuation, removing ambiguity after an allergic event [3].
Where a specific number in this history could not be confirmed against its cited source, primarily the 2021 glucose post-hoc figures, it has been flagged rather than presented as settled. Anyone using this article to guide a specific dosing or monitoring decision should confirm current figures against the FDA label directly [3].
Frequently asked questions
When was Egrifta (tesamorelin) FDA approved?
What does the current Egrifta SV label cover?
What is the difference between Egrifta and Egrifta SV?
Does tesamorelin raise IGF-1 levels?
Can tesamorelin affect blood sugar?
Is there a black box warning on Egrifta SV?
What are the most common side effects of tesamorelin?
How durable is tesamorelin's effect on fat reduction?
Is tesamorelin appropriate for patients with a cancer history?
How is Egrifta SV stored?
Can tesamorelin be prescribed off-label for weight loss?
References
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Drugs@FDA: Egrifta (tesamorelin) NDA 022505 approval overview. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/daf/index.cfm?event=overview.process&ApplNo=022505
- Falutz J, Allas S, Blot K, et al. Metabolic effects of a growth hormone-releasing factor in patients with HIV. N Engl J Med. 2007;357(23):2359-2370. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18057338/
- Theratechnologies Inc. Egrifta SV (tesamorelin) prescribing information (current label; consult the FDA Drugs@FDA database directly, as the previously cited direct label link could not be verified).
- Falutz J, Potvin D, Mamputu JC, et al. Effects of tesamorelin, a growth hormone-releasing factor, in HIV-infected patients with abdominal fat accumulation: a randomized placebo-controlled trial with a safety extension. J Acquir Immune Defic Syndr. 2010;53(3):311-322. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/20101189/
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Egrifta SV supplemental approval, 2019 (NDA 022505). A direct link to this label could not be verified; consult the FDA Drugs@FDA database for the current approval record.
- Grinspoon S, Carr A. Cardiovascular risk and body-fat abnormalities in HIV-infected adults. N Engl J Med. 2005;352(1):48-62. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15635112/
- Clayton PE, Banerjee I, Murray PG, Renehan AG. Growth hormone, the insulin-like growth factor axis, insulin and cancer risk. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2011;7(1):11-24. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/20956999/
- Cited as Bhatt DL, Bays HE, Miller M, et al., post-hoc analysis of long-term extension glucose data, J Acquir Immune Defic Syndr, 2021. This citation and its reported figures could not be independently confirmed for this revision, and no verifiable source could be located; treat as unconfirmed until checked directly against a primary source.
- Hadigan C and colleagues have published extension-phase data on tesamorelin maintenance therapy in HIV lipodystrophy; a verifiable direct citation for this specific finding could not be confirmed for this revision.
- Hadigan C and Grinspoon S have written on the treatment of HIV-associated lipodystrophy; a verifiable direct citation for this specific reference could not be confirmed for this revision.
