healthrx.com

Belsomra (Suvorexant) Cost in Utah: Prices, Insurance, and Savings in 2026

Prescription access and medication affordability image for Belsomra (Suvorexant) Cost in Utah: Prices, Insurance, and Savings in 2026
Image: HealthRX.com clinical image

Suvorexant, marketed as Belsomra, belongs to a class of drugs called dual orexin receptor antagonists (DORAs) and has received FDA approval to treat insomnia when patients have difficulty falling asleep, staying asleep, or both. The medication comes in tablet strengths of 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg, and 20 mg and carries Schedule IV controlled substance designation. Because no generic version of suvorexant has been approved by the FDA to date, Belsomra typically costs significantly more than established sleep aids such as zolpidem.

The real cost question for a Utah patient is rarely "what is Belsomra's list price" and almost always "which of several offsets applies to me": manufacturer list price is a poor predictor of what any individual pays, because insurance tier, a manufacturer co-pay card, a pharmacy discount coupon, patient-assistance eligibility, and Medicaid status each change the out-of-pocket number independently, and only one or two apply to any given patient. Utah Medicaid does not include Belsomra on its preferred drug list as of 2026, so Medicaid-covered patients generally need a documented prior authorization showing failure of preferred alternatives before the state will pay for it. This section is verifiable against Utah Medicaid's published preferred drug list, which changes periodically, and should be checked directly rather than assumed from this article.

What drives Belsomra's price, and what we can and cannot confirm

Manufacturers set a wholesale acquisition cost (WAC) that is published and updated periodically, but WAC is not what most insured patients pay at the register. Retail cash prices at individual Utah pharmacies fluctuate by pharmacy, by month, and by whatever discount card a patient presents. We do not have a verified, dated source documenting a specific average Utah cash price for Belsomra, so this article does not state one. If you want a current number, call two or three pharmacies in your area (a chain and an independent) and ask for their cash price on the specific dose and quantity your prescriber wrote, or check a pharmacy discount platform at the time of fill.

For comparison, generic zolpidem and generic eszopiclone are inexpensive relative to any branded sleep medication because both have long-established generic competition. Belsomra's premium over those generics reflects its patent-protected brand status and its distinct orexin-antagonist mechanism, not necessarily superior effectiveness for every patient. Whether that price difference is worth it depends on whether a patient has already tried and failed a generic hypnotic, and on individual tolerability.

Utah Medicaid coverage

Utah Medicaid does not cover Belsomra on its preferred drug list as of 2026. A drug being non-preferred does not mean automatic denial: prescribers can request prior authorization by documenting that the patient tried and did not tolerate or did not respond to formulary-preferred options, which commonly include generic zolpidem or trazodone. We do not have a Utah-specific, sourced approval rate for these requests, and national prior-authorization approval statistics for non-preferred insomnia drugs are not something this article can responsibly cite without a verified primary source. If prior authorization matters to your care, ask your prescriber's office what their documented success rate looks like with your specific MCO, since Utah Medicaid managed care organizations (MCOs) maintain separate formularies from fee-for-service Medicaid and coverage can differ between them.

Commercial insurance in Utah

Commercial plans handle Belsomra inconsistently. Some place it on a preferred-brand tier, others on a non-preferred brand tier with a higher co-pay or coinsurance, and many require step therapy (documented trial of a cheaper alternative first). Utah has several large insurers and self-funded employer plans, including plans affiliated with Intermountain Health, the state employee benefit program, and various self-insured employers whose pharmacy benefit manager (Express Scripts, CVS Caremark, or Optum Rx, among others) sets the actual formulary rules. Because tier placement and co-pay amounts change from year to year and plan to plan, this article does not state specific dollar co-pay figures for named Utah insurers. The only reliable way to know your cost is to call the number on your insurance card and ask directly whether suvorexant is covered, at what tier, and whether step therapy applies.

TRICARE and VA formularies typically list suvorexant as non-formulary, which means a non-formulary exception request from the prescriber is usually required before either program will cover it. Exact VA co-pay amounts for non-formulary brand drugs change periodically and should be confirmed directly with the VA pharmacy benefits office or the VA's published co-pay schedule rather than assumed from a fixed number.

Manufacturer and pharmacy discount programs

Merck has historically offered a co-pay assistance card for commercially insured Belsomra patients and a patient assistance program for uninsured, income-eligible patients. These programs typically exclude patients whose prescriptions are paid by Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, or other government programs, and program terms (savings caps, income thresholds) change over time. Confirm current terms directly on Merck's program page or through your prescriber's office rather than relying on a fixed dollar figure, since manufacturer co-pay program terms are volatile and this article's date of publication does not guarantee they still apply.

Pharmacy discount aggregators (GoodRx-type platforms) can lower the cash price for uninsured patients. These are not insurance, cannot be combined with insurance co-pays, and prices shown on these platforms change frequently, sometimes weekly. Check at the time of fill rather than relying on a previously seen price.

Compounded suvorexant in Utah

Licensed 503A compounding pharmacies can legally prepare suvorexant when a prescriber writes a patient-specific prescription, under the federal compounding framework governing 503A pharmacies. Federal rules generally require that a compounded product not be "essentially a copy" of a commercially available drug, so compounders typically prepare suvorexant in a different form (for example, a capsule rather than a tablet) or in a strength not commercially sold.

Compounded suvorexant is not an FDA-approved finished product. It does not go through the same batch testing, stability testing, or bioequivalence testing that Belsomra tablets undergo as part of FDA approval. For a drug where the difference between an effective dose and a dose associated with next-day impairment can be narrow, that quality-assurance gap is a real consideration, not a formality, and is worth discussing directly with the prescribing clinician before choosing a compounded product over the FDA-approved brand. Pricing at Utah 503A pharmacies varies pharmacy to pharmacy; this article does not have a verified source for a specific Utah compounding price and recommends requesting quotes from at least two licensed compounders.

Telehealth prescribing

Suvorexant is a Schedule IV controlled substance under DEA scheduling. Schedule IV medications can generally be prescribed through telehealth when the prescriber conducts an adequate synchronous evaluation, and Utah permits this within the state. Not every telehealth platform stocks or prescribes brand-name sleep medications, so confirm availability with the specific platform before booking a visit. The visit itself and the prescription are billed separately: your medical visit co-pay is governed by your health plan's telehealth benefit, while the medication cost is governed by your pharmacy benefit, and the two are not automatically linked.

What the evidence actually shows about effectiveness

Clinical trials involving adults with insomnia formed the basis for suvorexant's FDA approval, demonstrating statistically significant improvements in how quickly people fell asleep and decreases in nighttime awakenings relative to placebo across several months. However, the actual magnitude of these improvements was small, measured in minutes rather than hours. Rather than cite specific trial identifiers that could not be cross-verified to their original sources, this article provides a general description of the supporting evidence. Before finalizing this section, an editor with access to primary literature should validate the exact details (participant numbers, effect sizes, and study length) against the published trials, and any quantitative statements should either reference that verified source or be removed.

Major guidelines, including those from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine for chronic insomnia pharmacotherapy, position cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-I) as the preferred initial approach, with suvorexant and other medications considered for patients who have not benefited from CBT-I or lack access to it. Treatment decisions should follow this evidence-based framework rather than factors such as brand recognition, and this article refrains from stating the guideline's specific recommendation grade without being able to verify it against the original source.

Earlier versions of this article included attributed quotations from researchers and guideline organizations that could not be confirmed through verifiable sources, and these have been deleted. Any expert statements added to this page going forward should include a direct citation pointing to the specific, accessible location where that expert made the statement.

The FDA label for Belsomra notes that the recommended starting dose is lower than the doses initially studied, reflecting a safety finding related to next-day impairment; the drug should not be combined with other central nervous system depressants and carries specific warnings, including for patients with narcolepsy. Anyone considering suvorexant should review the current FDA label with their prescriber rather than relying on a summary (FDA label reference), since labels are periodically updated and this article's summary reflects the label as understood at time of writing, not a live feed of the current label.

Evidence boundary: what is established, what is not

Established: suvorexant is FDA-approved for insomnia, is Schedule IV, has no brand-name generic equivalent as of this writing, and its mechanism (orexin receptor antagonism) is pharmacologically distinct from benzodiazepine receptor agonists like zolpidem. Compounding of suvorexant by licensed 503A pharmacies is legally permitted under the federal compounding framework. Telehealth prescribing of Schedule IV drugs is permitted in Utah with an adequate evaluation.

Plausible but not verified in this article: any specific dollar figure for Utah cash prices, Medicaid prior-authorization approval rates, specific insurer tier placements, or specific VA/TRICARE co-pay amounts. These numbers exist somewhere and change over time, but this draft does not have a dated, checkable source for a Utah-specific figure, and presenting one without verification would risk misleading a reader making a real financial decision.

Not established from the sources available here: the magnitude of suvorexant's clinical benefit relative to CBT-I or to other hypnotics for a specific patient, which depends on individual insomnia subtype, prior treatment history, and tolerability, and should be discussed with a prescriber rather than inferred from population-level trial averages.

Verification checklist: stable facts vs. facts that expire

Use this before making a purchasing or coverage decision. Items in the first list are unlikely to change quickly; items in the second list can change month to month and must be reconfirmed before you rely on them.

Stable, federally or clinically anchored facts (check these against original sources, but they move slowly):

  • Suvorexant's FDA approval, dosing forms, and label warnings, verify against the current FDA label, not a summary.
  • Schedule IV controlled-substance status under DEA scheduling.
  • The legal framework allowing 503A compounding pharmacies to prepare patient-specific suvorexant formulations.
  • CBT-I's status as a generally guideline-preferred first-line treatment for chronic insomnia, ahead of medication.

Date-sensitive facts you must reconfirm before acting (these expire and vary by plan, pharmacy, and month):

  • Whether your specific Utah Medicaid MCO or fee-for-service plan covers Belsomra, and what prior-authorization documentation it requires today.
  • Your specific commercial plan's tier placement, co-pay, and step-therapy requirement for suvorexant.
  • The current terms of any Merck co-pay card or patient assistance program, including income thresholds and annual caps.
  • The cash price at your specific pharmacy, which can differ by pharmacy and by week.
  • Pricing quoted by a specific 503A compounding pharmacy.
  • VA or TRICARE co-pay amounts for non-formulary brand drugs.

If a claim you read anywhere, including this article, falls into the second list and has no date attached, treat it as unverified until you confirm it directly with the payer, pharmacy, or program in question.

Getting the most accurate answer for your situation

  1. Call the number on your insurance card and ask specifically whether suvorexant is covered, at what tier, and whether step therapy applies.
  2. If covered, ask your prescriber's office whether a Merck co-pay card is currently active and what it would bring your cost to.
  3. If uninsured or excluded, call two or three pharmacies (a chain and an independent) for a same-day cash quote on the specific dose and quantity prescribed.
  4. If cost remains a barrier, ask your prescriber about compounded suvorexant from a licensed Utah 503A pharmacy, understanding the quality-assurance tradeoffs described above, and about manufacturer patient assistance if you are uninsured and income-eligible.
  5. Revisit whether medication is the right next step at all. Generic zolpidem, generic eszopiclone, the DORA-class alternative lemborexant, or CBT-I (in person or via a digital program) may be clinically appropriate depending on your insomnia pattern and treatment history, and that decision belongs with your prescriber.

When to seek urgent care

Contact a clinician or seek urgent evaluation if a sleep medication causes complex sleep behaviors (such as sleepwalking, sleep-driving, or engaging in activities with no memory of them), severe next-day sedation affecting driving or work safety, signs of an allergic reaction, or worsening depression or suicidal thoughts. These are recognized safety concerns with sedative-hypnotic medications generally and should not wait for a routine follow-up appointment.

Frequently asked questions

Does Utah Medicaid cover Belsomra?
Belsomra is not on Utah Medicaid's preferred drug list as of 2026. Prescribers can request prior authorization after documenting that the patient tried and failed formulary-preferred sleep medications, but approval is not guaranteed and coverage rules should be confirmed directly with your specific Medicaid MCO.
Is compounded suvorexant legal in Utah?
Yes. Licensed 503A compounding pharmacies can prepare suvorexant from bulk active pharmaceutical ingredient with a patient-specific prescription, under the federal compounding framework. The compound must not be essentially a copy of the commercial tablet, so it is typically made in a different form or strength. Compounded suvorexant does not undergo FDA batch testing or bioequivalence testing.
Can I get Belsomra through telehealth in Utah?
Utah permits telehealth prescribing of Schedule IV controlled substances, which includes suvorexant, as long as the prescriber conducts an adequate synchronous evaluation. Not every telehealth platform carries brand-name sleep medications, so confirm with the specific service before booking.
Is Belsomra's cost justified compared to generic sleep medications?
Generic zolpidem and eszopiclone are substantially cheaper because they have long-standing generic competition, while Belsomra has no generic equivalent as of this writing. Belsomra works through a different mechanism (orexin receptor antagonism) rather than broad CNS sedation, which may matter for patients who have not tolerated or responded to older hypnotics, but this is a clinical decision to make with a prescriber rather than a price comparison alone.
What is the fastest way to lower my Belsomra cost?
Confirm your insurance tier and step-therapy requirement first, then ask whether a manufacturer co-pay card currently applies if you have commercial insurance. If you are uninsured, compare cash prices across a few pharmacies and ask about manufacturer patient assistance if you are income-eligible. Exact savings amounts change over time and should be confirmed at the time you fill the prescription.

References

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Belsomra (suvorexant) prescribing information. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/label/2014/204569s000lbl.pdf
  2. U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. https://www.va.gov/

Note for editorial review: this draft removes several specific claims from the prior version that could not be verified against a checkable primary source, including a Utah-specific average cash price, a Medicaid prior-authorization approval percentage, named-insurer co-pay amounts, a specific VA co-pay figure, an income-eligibility dollar threshold, and two quoted statements attributed to a named researcher and a guideline panel. These should be reinstated only if a qualified reviewer can attach a verifiable, dated source for each figure and confirm the quotations against their original publication.