Wegovy Geriatric Safety: What Adults 65 and Older Need to Know About Semaglutide 2.4 mg

At a glance

  • FDA age restriction / no upper-age cutoff in the label
  • Weight-management exposure / 233 injection-treated participants ages 65 to under 75; 23 ages 75+
  • Cardiovascular-outcomes exposure / 2,656 treated participants ages 65-75; 703 ages 75+
  • Effectiveness by age / no overall difference observed for adults 65+ versus younger adults
  • Age 75+ label signal / more hip and pelvic fractures on Wegovy than placebo
  • Renal evidence / current pharmacokinetic findings specify an eGFR range; dehydration-related kidney risk still matters
  • Lean-mass evidence / exploratory STEP 1 DXA substudy, not a geriatric-specific trial and not a direct muscle-function measurement
  • Monitoring / symptom- and risk-triggered; no universal geriatric lab or DEXA calendar in the label

Editorial evidence status: Evidence checked against the June 2026 U.S. label and primary trial reports on October 4, 2026. Medical review is pending. This page maps evidence and uncertainty; it does not decide whether treatment is appropriate for an individual.

The Most Important Number Is the Denominator

“Older adults were included” is true but incomplete. The number included depends on which Wegovy evidence set is being discussed.

Older-adult evidence map

Evidence setPopulationWegovy-treated ages 65–75Wegovy-treated ages 75+What it can answer
Label-reported injection weight-management cohortAdults with obesity or overweight233 (9%), ages 65 to under 7523 (1%)General efficacy and adverse effects, with limited precision after 75
Cardiovascular outcomes trial (SELECT)Adults 45+ with established cardiovascular disease and overweight/obesity, without diabetes2,656 (30%)703 (8%)Cardiovascular outcomes and longer exposure in a substantially older cohort
STEP 1 DXA substudySmall exploratory body-composition subsetNot reported as an older-adult cohortNot reported as an older-adult cohortChanges in DXA fat and lean mass, not geriatric function or falls

The first two rows come from the geriatric section of the current U.S. prescribing information. They describe injection cohorts, not the oral-tablet cohort or a pooled count for every formulation and dose. The body-composition limitation comes from the STEP 1 exploratory DXA analysis.

This is why a confident statement such as “Wegovy has the same geriatric safety profile at every age” is not supported. The label says no overall effectiveness difference was observed after 65; it does not say that every adverse outcome is identical, especially after 75.

What the FDA Label Says About Age 65 and Age 75

The current geriatric-use section makes four distinct points:

  1. Adults 65 and older were included in the weight-management, cardiovascular-outcomes, and MASH trials.
  2. No overall effectiveness difference was observed between adults 65 and older and younger adults.
  3. In the cardiovascular-outcomes trial, participants 75 and older reported more serious adverse reactions overall than younger adults in both treatment groups.
  4. Within that 75+ group, more hip and pelvic fractures were reported on Wegovy than on placebo.

The fracture finding does not establish its mechanism or make age 75 a contraindication. Section 6.1 reports hip and pelvic fractures in 17 of 703 injection-treated participants age 75 or older (2.4%) versus 4 of 663 placebo-treated participants (0.6%). Those counts are from the cardiovascular trial, not a trial of every older-adult regimen. It does justify asking about baseline fracture risk and treating a new fall or fracture as clinically meaningful rather than dismissing it as unrelated to weight loss.

Lean Mass Is Not the Same as Muscle Function

The STEP 1 DXA substudy is often summarized as “40% of Wegovy weight loss is muscle.” That wording overstates what was measured.

DXA divides body mass into fat mass, bone mineral content, and lean soft tissue. Lean body mass includes water, organs, connective tissue, and muscle; it is not a direct measurement of skeletal-muscle quality, strength, or physical function.

In the exploratory substudy, semaglutide reduced total fat mass more than lean body mass in percentage terms: total fat mass fell 19.3%, visceral fat mass 27.4%, and total lean body mass 9.7%. Because fat fell faster, lean mass increased as a proportion of total body mass. The substudy included 140 participants (95 assigned semaglutide and 45 placebo), with BMI no greater than 40 at nine sites. It was not designed to establish falls, disability, or sarcopenia outcomes in adults over 65.

Source: STEP 1 body-composition analysis.

What can reasonably be inferred

  • Substantial weight loss can include loss of lean tissue.
  • An older adult with low strength, frailty, poor intake, or previous falls may have less reserve for that loss.
  • Weight, strength, mobility, dietary intake, and function answer different questions; a scale alone cannot show which tissue changed.

What cannot be inferred from STEP 1

  • that 40% of every patient's loss will be skeletal muscle;
  • that semaglutide uniquely causes sarcopenia;
  • that every adult over 65 requires DEXA every six months; or
  • that inability to perform a particular exercise program automatically makes someone ineligible.

A Benefit–Burden Matrix for Older Adults

Instead of a one-size-fits-all “senior protocol,” the evidence supports watching for changes that alter the balance of benefit and burden.

DomainPotential benefitBurden or signal to watchWhy it matters more with age
CardiovascularSELECT showed fewer major cardiovascular events in its indicated high-risk populationTreatment discontinuation and adverse effects still occurredAbsolute cardiovascular risk is often higher
Weight and mobilityLess body mass may ease movement for some peopleNew weakness, slower walking, difficulty rising, or fallsFunction can worsen even while weight falls
Hydration and kidney functionCurrent label pharmacokinetic findings cover eGFR 30 to under 90 mL/minutePersistent vomiting, diarrhea, poor intake, dizziness, or reduced urinationPhysiologic reserve and concurrent diuretics may narrow the margin
GlycemiaImproved glucose may be beneficialHypoglycemia with insulin or insulin secretagoguesSymptoms can present atypically and falls may result
Medication burdenWeight change may alter needs for some medicinesOrthostasis or glucose-lowering overtreatmentExisting regimens may need reassessment, not automatic discontinuation
Bone and fallsNo bone benefit is establishedHip/pelvic fracture signal after 75 in the labelConsequences of fracture are substantial

This table is a decision aid, not a dosing algorithm. It identifies observations worth bringing to the prescribing clinician.

Dehydration and Kidney Risk: Use Triggers, Not an Invented Calendar

The label reports postmarketing acute kidney injury, sometimes requiring hemodialysis. Most reported events occurred in people whose nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea led to dehydration. The instruction is to monitor renal function in patients reporting adverse reactions that could lead to volume depletion, especially during initiation and escalation.

That is different from requiring every older adult to have creatinine and electrolytes at fixed four-week checkpoints. A clinician may choose scheduled testing because of chronic kidney disease, diuretics, frailty, prior dehydration, or other risks, but a universal calendar is not an FDA protocol.

Contact the prescribing team promptly for ongoing vomiting or diarrhea, inability to maintain fluids, marked dizziness, fainting, confusion, or reduced urination. Those symptoms are more actionable than a generic instruction to drink a fixed number of liters, which may be inappropriate in heart failure or other fluid-restricted conditions.

Dose Escalation: Age Does Not Create a Second Label Schedule

For Wegovy injection, the labeled initiation schedule is 0.25 mg weekly for four weeks, then 0.5 mg, 1 mg, and 1.7 mg in four-week steps. For adult weight and cardiovascular-risk indications, the maintenance options are 1.7 mg or 2.4 mg weekly, with 2.4 mg recommended. For adult weight reduction, the current label also allows up to 7.2 mg after at least four weeks of tolerated 2.4 mg when further weight reduction is clinically indicated. That option does not change the dose or population studied in the 2.4 mg trials summarized here. Maintenance selection depends on response and tolerability.

The label does not prescribe a slower schedule solely because a patient is 65. It also does not require every patient to reach 2.4 mg regardless of tolerability. A prescriber may delay escalation or change the plan; patients should not alter pen strength or timing independently.

Medication Review: Focus on Demonstrated Pathways

The strongest label-supported medication issue is hypoglycemia in people with diabetes using insulin or an insulin secretagogue such as a sulfonylurea. The label advises glucose monitoring and considering dose reduction of those medications when Wegovy is initiated.

Wegovy delays gastric emptying and may affect absorption of oral medications. The current label distinguishes injection and tablet interaction studies; an oral-tablet study found increased levothyroxine exposure. A blanket claim of no absorption effect across formulations is therefore inappropriate. The label advises monitoring concomitant oral medicines and considering increased clinical or laboratory monitoring for medicines with a narrow therapeutic index or other monitoring needs. It does not publish universal instructions to check INR two weeks after every escalation or TSH after every dose increase.

A useful medication review asks:

  • Which medicines can cause hypoglycemia?
  • Which medicines lower blood pressure or increase fluid loss?
  • Which medicines have a narrow therapeutic index or rely on consistent absorption?
  • Have weight, intake, blood pressure, glucose, or symptoms changed enough to revisit an existing dose?

Medication changes remain individualized; weight loss is not by itself a reason to stop a statin, antihypertensive, or diabetes medicine.

Cardiovascular Evidence Without Overgeneralizing

SELECT randomized 17,604 adults ages 45 to 93 who had established cardiovascular disease and overweight or obesity but not diabetes. The primary endpoint - cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction, or nonfatal stroke - occurred in 6.5% assigned semaglutide and 8.0% assigned placebo over a mean follow-up of about 40 months.

That result supports the FDA cardiovascular-risk-reduction indication for the studied population. It does not mean that every older adult has established cardiovascular disease, that benefits automatically exceed burdens in frailty, or that the trial directly answered muscle-preservation questions.

Sources: SELECT primary report and current U.S. label.

Questions That Make an Older-Adult Follow-Up More Informative

  • Has the person fallen, nearly fallen, or developed new difficulty rising from a chair?
  • Is weight falling faster than intended, and is food intake adequate?
  • Are vomiting, diarrhea, constipation, or abdominal symptoms persistent or severe?
  • Are home blood pressure or glucose readings now lower than before treatment?
  • Is there new dizziness, confusion, weakness, reduced urination, or dehydration?
  • Is there a planned procedure involving anesthesia or deep sedation? The label tells patients to inform the procedural team because delayed gastric emptying and rare aspiration have been reported.
  • Does continued treatment still match the person's goals for mobility, cardiometabolic health, and quality of life?

These questions generate patient-specific evidence. A blanket panel of albumin, prealbumin, vitamin B12, vitamin D, DEXA, and body-composition testing every three to six months is not established by the Wegovy label.

Evidence Boundaries

Older adults were studied, with substantially more older participants in SELECT than in the original weight-management trials. Age alone does not establish frailty or an additional contraindication. Individual function, hydration and fracture risk can matter even when average effectiveness is similar by age.

Frequently asked questions

Is Wegovy FDA-approved for adults over 65?
Yes. The label has no upper-age cutoff, and it reports no overall effectiveness difference between adults 65 and older and younger adults. Individual contraindications and treatment goals still apply.
How many adults over 75 were in Wegovy trials?
The FDA label reports 23 Wegovy-treated participants age 75 or older in the weight-management trials and 703 in the cardiovascular-outcomes trial. Those evidence sets answer different questions.
Does Wegovy cause fractures in older adults?
The current label reports more hip and pelvic fractures with Wegovy than placebo among cardiovascular-trial participants age 75 and older. The geriatric section does not provide enough detail to prove the mechanism or make age 75 a contraindication.
Does 40% lean-mass loss mean 40% muscle loss?
No. DXA lean body mass includes more than skeletal muscle, and the STEP 1 analysis was exploratory and not geriatric-specific. It did not directly measure strength, falls, or disability.
Do all older adults need DEXA scans while taking Wegovy?
No universal DEXA schedule appears in the FDA label. A clinician may order bone or body-composition testing because of osteoporosis, fractures, frailty, or another individual risk.
Is the Wegovy dose lower after age 65?
The FDA label does not create an age-based dosage schedule. It uses the standard escalation schedule and says maintenance selection should consider response and tolerability.
Does kidney impairment require a lower Wegovy dose?
The current label reports no clinically significant pharmacokinetic difference for eGFR 30 to under 90 mL/minute. That finding is not a dosing instruction for every degree of kidney disease. Vomiting or diarrhea can cause dehydration-related kidney injury, so the actual prescription, symptoms and individual risk matter.
Should warfarin or levothyroxine automatically be retested after every dose increase?
The label advises monitoring oral medications and extra caution with narrow-therapeutic-index drugs, but it does not give a universal INR or TSH calendar. The relevant prescriber should set monitoring for the exact medicine and patient.

References

  1. Novo Nordisk. Wegovy (semaglutide) current U.S. prescribing information, revised June 2026. https://www.novo-pi.com/wegovy.pdf

  2. Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity. New England Journal of Medicine. 2021;384:989-1002. https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2032183

  3. Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. Impact of Semaglutide on Body Composition in Adults With Overweight or Obesity: Exploratory Analysis of the STEP 1 Study. Journal of the Endocrine Society. 2021;5(Suppl 1):A16-A17. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8089287/

  4. Lincoff AM, Brown-Frandsen K, Colhoun HM, et al. Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Obesity without Diabetes. New England Journal of Medicine. 2023;389:2221-2232. https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2307563

Evidence overview for Wegovy Geriatric Safety: What Adults 65 and Older Need to Know About Semaglutide 2.4 mg