Repatha Cost in Massachusetts 2026: Price, Insurance, and Compounded Alternatives

Evolocumab, marketed as Repatha, is a fully human monoclonal antibody administered by subcutaneous injection that works by inhibiting PCSK9. The FDA has approved evolocumab to reduce LDL cholesterol levels in adults and select adolescents who have heterozygous or homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia, as well as in adults with prior cardiovascular events, typically prescribed alongside dietary modifications and high-dose statin therapy. Unlike alirocumab (Praluent), the alternative PCSK9 inhibitor on the market, evolocumab is a distinct molecular entity and requires injection rather than oral administration.
The direct answer: what a Massachusetts patient actually pays for Repatha depends far less on the manufacturer's list price than on which of four pathways applies to them, commercial insurance with prior authorization and a manufacturer savings card, MassHealth (Medicaid) with an approved prior authorization, cash payment at a retail or discount price, or a compounded evolocumab preparation from a licensed 503A pharmacy. Those four pathways can produce out-of-pocket costs that differ by hundreds of dollars a month for the same drug, and the pathway that applies can change from year to year as formularies, savings-card terms, and Medicare rules are updated. Anyone relying on a specific dollar figure from this page, or any page, should confirm it against a current plan document or pharmacy quote before making a decision.
Why "the price of Repatha" is the wrong question to start with
A generic reference page can tell you Repatha's list price on a given date. That number is close to useless for most Massachusetts patients, because almost nobody pays list price. The more useful question is which cost pathway you qualify for, since eligibility rules (insurance type, income, diagnosis, and pharmacy licensure) are far more stable than the dollar figures attached to them. This page is organized around that question.
What does Repatha cost, and how reliable is that number?
Amgen publishes a wholesale acquisition cost (list price) for Repatha, and that price has been reported publicly as having dropped substantially from its original launch price after a voluntary price reduction the company made in 2019. We are not able to verify a specific 2026 dollar figure for Massachusetts from the source material available for this article, and a precise monthly list price should be confirmed directly with Amgen, a pharmacy, or a current benefits summary rather than taken from any static web page, because manufacturer list prices and cash discount-card prices change over time.
What is more stable, and verifiable through the FDA label, is the dosing that determines how a monthly cost is calculated: evolocumab is dosed at either 140 mg subcutaneously every two weeks or 420 mg subcutaneously once monthly, and the two regimens are considered equivalent in effect (per the FDA-approved prescribing information). Whatever the current list price is, it applies to one of those two monthly regimens, and a "per month" quote should specify which one.
Uninsured patients paying cash typically see prices close to list price at retail and specialty pharmacies, with modest reductions sometimes available through discount cards. Specific dollar amounts and pharmacy-to-pharmacy variation within Massachusetts are the kind of detail that changes often enough that we are not stating a number here; a same-day phone or app price check at the dispensing pharmacy is the reliable way to get it.
Does MassHealth (Massachusetts Medicaid) cover Repatha?
MassHealth's pharmacy formulary process generally requires prior authorization for specialty biologics like PCSK9 inhibitors, and coverage for evolocumab would be expected to require documentation of a qualifying diagnosis (familial hypercholesterolemia or established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease) and evidence that the patient has not reached LDL-C goals despite maximally tolerated statin therapy, consistent with how PCSK9 inhibitors are positioned in national cholesterol guidelines. We could not verify MassHealth's specific published PA criteria, current turnaround-time commitments, or fair-hearing appeal timelines from the sources available for this draft, so those specifics are not stated here and should be confirmed directly with MassHealth or the member's managed care entity (for example, a plan's pharmacy benefits page or provider services line) before a patient or prescriber relies on them.
If a MassHealth PA is approved, Medicaid copays for prescription drugs in Massachusetts are typically nominal, but the exact fee schedule changes periodically and should be checked against the current MassHealth member handbook rather than assumed.
Is compounded evolocumab legal in Massachusetts, and what does that actually mean?
This is a genuinely important distinction that a generic drug page usually glosses over. Evolocumab is a biologic (a monoclonal antibody), and federal compounding law treats biologics differently from small-molecule drugs. Under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act's compounding provisions, a licensed 503A pharmacy may prepare a patient-specific compounded medication when a prescriber documents a clinical reason the commercially available product does not meet that patient's needs, but compounding a copy of an FDA-approved biologic sits in a more restricted regulatory space than compounding a small-molecule drug (FDA compounding laws and policies). The FDA page describes the statutory framework; it does not list evolocumab by name as prohibited or permitted, and we found no FDA guidance specific to evolocumab compounding in the materials available for this article.
Practical implications for a Massachusetts patient considering a compounded evolocumab product:
- The pharmacy should hold a current Massachusetts Board of Pharmacy license as a 503A sterile-compounding facility, and should be able to show it on request.
- A compounded product has not gone through FDA review of its own safety, efficacy, potency, or stability. It is not the same regulatory category as brand-name Repatha, even if the active ingredient is intended to be identical.
- Lower advertised prices for compounded evolocumab, sometimes offered through telehealth platforms, do not by themselves establish that the product is appropriately sourced, dosed, or stable. Independent verification of the compounding pharmacy's license and quality practices is the patient's and prescriber's responsibility.
- A prescriber should document in the chart why a patient-specific compounded product, rather than the FDA-approved product, is being used.
Given the regulatory ambiguity, patients who can access brand-name Repatha through insurance or manufacturer assistance at little or no out-of-pocket cost generally have a simpler and better-characterized safety picture than the compounded alternative. Compounding may be a reasonable option primarily for patients who are otherwise unable to afford or access the FDA-approved product, and that tradeoff should be discussed explicitly with the prescriber.
Which commercial insurance plans in Massachusetts cover Repatha?
Commercial insurers generally place PCSK9 inhibitors, including Repatha, on a specialty drug tier and require prior authorization, often with a step-therapy requirement documenting statin (and sometimes ezetimibe) use before approval. That pattern is consistent with how national cholesterol guidelines position PCSK9 inhibitors as an add-on therapy for patients not at goal on statins, rather than a first-line drug. We are not able to confirm specific insurer-by-insurer PA criteria, step-therapy documentation requirements, or turnaround-time guarantees for individual Massachusetts carriers from the source material for this article, so plan-specific claims have been removed rather than stated as fact. A member should call the number on the insurance card and ask directly: is evolocumab on formulary, what tier, what PA documentation is required, and is step therapy required.
Massachusetts law includes provisions allowing prescribers to request exceptions to step-therapy protocols when a required step is medically inappropriate for a specific patient. The exact statutory citation and current procedural timelines should be verified with the prescriber's office or the Massachusetts Division of Insurance rather than assumed, since statutory text and administrative timelines are the kind of detail that can be updated.
How does the Amgen Repatha savings program work?
Amgen has historically offered a patient copay assistance card intended to reduce out-of-pocket cost for commercially insured patients, and a separate patient assistance program for people who are uninsured or underinsured, often tied to an income threshold expressed as a percentage of the federal poverty level. Manufacturer copay assistance programs like this are generally not usable by patients enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, or other federal health programs, largely because of federal anti-kickback rules governing drug discounts in government programs. The specific dollar cap, enrollment mechanics, and current income threshold for Amgen's programs change periodically and should be confirmed at the manufacturer's own program page or by calling the number on the card, rather than taken from this or any other secondary source.
For Medicare Part D enrollees, the Inflation Reduction Act created an annual out-of-pocket spending cap for Part D drugs, which took effect for 2025 (CMS, Inflation Reduction Act and Medicare). This is a genuinely useful, verifiable fact for a Medicare patient considering Repatha: even without a manufacturer card, total annual Part D out-of-pocket spending across all covered drugs is capped, which changes the economics of a high-list-price specialty drug. The exact cap amount for a given plan year should be confirmed on the CMS page above, since it is indexed and subject to change.
Can a Massachusetts patient get a Repatha prescription through telehealth?
Massachusetts permits telehealth prescribing generally, and there is no indication in available sources that Repatha is subject to a special in-person examination requirement beyond what applies to specialty medications generally. A prescriber still needs to establish a valid clinical basis for the prescription, which in practice means reviewing a current lipid panel and confirming the patient meets an FDA-approved indication (familial hypercholesterolemia or established cardiovascular disease with LDL-C above goal on statin therapy). Specific requirements for forming a valid patient-prescriber relationship via telehealth, and any Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine documentation standards, should be confirmed directly with the prescriber's practice or the Board, since telehealth regulation is an area that has changed frequently since 2020.
Specialty pharmacies that dispense Repatha typically ship temperature-controlled biologics to a patient's home once a prior authorization is approved. Specific delivery-time commitments vary by pharmacy and are not stated here as a guaranteed figure.
What does the clinical trial evidence actually show?
The pivotal outcomes trial for evolocumab in cardiovascular disease is commonly referred to as FOURIER, a large randomized, placebo-controlled trial in patients with established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease already on statin therapy. It is widely reported in secondary literature as showing a substantial LDL-C reduction and a statistically significant reduction in major adverse cardiovascular events (a composite of cardiovascular death, myocardial infarction, stroke, and related events) over roughly two years of follow-up, with no signal of increased neurocognitive adverse events or new-onset diabetes compared with placebo. We were not able to verify a specific PubMed identifier or exact effect-size figures (hazard ratios, confidence intervals, absolute risk reduction) for this trial from the primary-source discovery process available for this article, so those precise numbers have been removed rather than restated. A prescriber citing exact trial statistics to a patient should pull them from the original New England Journal of Medicine publication or the FDA label rather than a secondary summary.
Separately, an imaging trial (commonly referred to as GLAGOV) has been reported in secondary sources to show regression of coronary atherosclerotic plaque volume with evolocumab compared with a small increase in the placebo group, and a smaller trial in homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (commonly referred to as TESLA Part B) has been reported to show a meaningful LDL-C reduction in that more treatment-resistant population, though patients with absent or severely reduced LDL receptor function are expected to respond less robustly than patients with heterozygous FH or general ASCVD. As with FOURIER, exact percentage figures from these trials should be verified against the primary publications before being used in patient counseling.
National cholesterol management guidelines from cardiology and related specialty societies support adding a PCSK9 inhibitor for patients at very high cardiovascular risk whose LDL-C remains above a guideline-specified threshold despite maximally tolerated statin and ezetimibe therapy. The exact threshold values and wording differ across guideline versions and should be confirmed against the current published guideline rather than a paraphrased summary, and no verbatim quotation from a specific guideline is reproduced here because the underlying document could not be confirmed for this draft.
What is established, what is plausible, and what is not established
Established: Evolocumab is FDA-approved for familial hypercholesterolemia and for LDL-lowering in patients with established cardiovascular disease, given by subcutaneous injection at 140 mg every two weeks or 420 mg monthly, with no dose adjustment required for renal or hepatic impairment per the FDA label. Medicare Part D has an annual out-of-pocket cap that applies to Part D drugs generally, effective 2025. Massachusetts permits telehealth prescribing of specialty medications in general terms.
Plausible but not verified for this article: The specific 2026 list price, cash price, and coinsurance figures cited in earlier drafts of this topic; specific insurer-by-insurer step-therapy and PA turnaround rules; exact MassHealth PA processing timelines; specific manufacturer savings-card and patient-assistance-program dollar thresholds; and exact clinical trial effect sizes. These are the kind of numbers that are real and checkable, but that we could not confirm from the sources available for this draft, so they are described qualitatively rather than as fixed figures.
Not established: That compounded evolocumab has equivalent potency, purity, or clinical outcomes to brand-name Repatha. That any specific compounding pharmacy's product is safe or effective for a given patient without independent verification of that pharmacy's licensure and quality practices.
When to involve a clinician urgently rather than troubleshoot cost
Cost and access questions are not urgent medical questions, but a few related situations are. A patient who develops signs of a serious allergic reaction after an injection (facial or throat swelling, difficulty breathing, widespread hives) needs emergency care, not a call to the pharmacy. A patient whose LDL-C is not falling as expected on a compounded or brand-name product, especially one with known established cardiovascular disease, should have that reviewed by the prescribing clinician promptly rather than waiting for the next scheduled lab, since an ineffective LDL-lowering regimen in a high-risk patient is a clinical problem, not just a cost problem.
Verification checklist: what is stable versus what you must check today
Use this before quoting a cost or coverage rule to a patient, or before a patient makes a financial decision based on something read online.
Stable facts (federal regulatory and clinical facts, unlikely to change month to month)
- Evolocumab's FDA-approved indications (familial hypercholesterolemia, established ASCVD), verify against the current FDA-approved prescribing information
- Approved dosing regimens (140 mg every 2 weeks or 420 mg monthly) and storage/handling instructions, FDA label, same link
- The general federal framework distinguishing 503A patient-specific compounding from FDA-approved products, https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/compounding-laws-and-policies
- The existence of a Medicare Part D annual out-of-pocket cap under the Inflation Reduction Act, https://www.cms.gov/inflation-reduction-act-and-medicare
Date-sensitive facts (must be re-checked at the point of care, not assumed from any article)
- Current Repatha list price and current cash/discount price at the specific dispensing pharmacy
- The current dollar amount of the Medicare Part D out-of-pocket cap for the current plan year (indexed annually)
- Whether a specific commercial plan covers evolocumab, on which tier, and what step-therapy or PA documentation it currently requires
- Current MassHealth PA criteria and processing timelines for evolocumab
- Current Amgen savings-card eligibility rules, cap amount, and patient-assistance-program income threshold
- Whether a specific compounding pharmacy currently holds an active Massachusetts Board of Pharmacy 503A license
- Current step-therapy exception procedures and timelines under Massachusetts insurance law
If a number in this article and a number from a live source (insurer, MassHealth, manufacturer, or pharmacy) disagree, the live source controls.
A practical decision path
- Confirm your insurance type first: commercial, MassHealth, Medicare, or uninsured. This determines which of the four cost pathways above is even available to you.
- If commercially insured, ask your plan about formulary status and PA requirements before your prescriber submits anything, and enroll for the manufacturer savings card in parallel while the PA is pending.
- If on MassHealth, confirm current PA criteria with your MassHealth plan directly rather than relying on a general description.
- If on Medicare, ask about your plan's current Part D structure and how the annual out-of-pocket cap applies to your other medications, since Repatha is rarely the only high-cost drug in the picture.
- If uninsured, ask about the manufacturer patient assistance program before considering a compounded alternative, and if you do consider a compounded product, verify the pharmacy's 503A license and ask your prescriber to document the clinical rationale in your chart.
References
- Evolocumab (Repatha) prescribing information. Amgen Inc. FDA label (verify current version directly with the FDA or Amgen).
- FDA. Human drug compounding: compounding laws and policies. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/compounding-laws-and-policies
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Inflation Reduction Act and Medicare (Part D out-of-pocket cap). https://www.cms.gov/inflation-reduction-act-and-medicare
Note for editorial review: this draft removes several precise cost, insurer-policy, MassHealth-process, and clinical-trial statistics that appeared in the prior version because they could not be confirmed against a verifiable primary source during this revision. A guideline quotation and several journal citations (PMIDs) from the prior draft were also removed because the underlying documents could not be verified; if a reviewer has access to the correct primary publications, those effect-size figures and the exact guideline threshold language can be restored with a verified citation.
