healthrx.com

Crisaborole (Eucrisa) Reviews: Efficacy, Side Effects & Uses

Prescription access and medication affordability image for Crisaborole (Eucrisa) Reviews: Efficacy, Side Effects & Uses
Image: HealthRX.com clinical illustration

At a glance

  • Drug class / phosphodiesterase-4 (PDE4) inhibitor, non-steroidal
  • FDA approval / December 2016 for mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis
  • Age range / approved for patients 3 months and older
  • Formulation / 2% topical ointment applied twice daily
  • Phase 3 result / 32.8% and 31.4% of patients reached clear/almost-clear skin at day 29 across the two pivotal trials, versus 25.4% and 18.0% on vehicle
  • Common side effect / application-site pain or burning (about 4.4% of patients)
  • Steroid-sparing benefit / no skin atrophy or HPA-axis suppression reported in trials to date
  • Manufacturer / Pfizer (originally developed by Anacor Pharmaceuticals)
  • Retail cost / commonly cited in the several-hundred-dollar range per 60g tube before insurance; verify current pricing with a pharmacy, as it varies and changes over time
  • Prescription status / requires a prescription in the United States

What Crisaborole Is and How It Works

Crisaborole is a small-molecule PDE4 inhibitor that blocks phosphodiesterase-4 inside immune cells, reducing production of the pro-inflammatory cytokines involved in eczema flares. The FDA approved the 2% ointment (brand name Eucrisa) in December 2016 for mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis in patients 3 months of age and older (per the manufacturer's prescribing information).

Unlike topical corticosteroids, crisaborole has not been shown to cause skin atrophy or HPA-axis suppression in the trials conducted so far, which is part of why it gets used on the face, eyelids, and skin folds, areas where long-term steroid use carries more risk. It is a boron-based compound, a chemistry that supports skin penetration relative to its molecular size. Anacor Pharmaceuticals developed the molecule before Pfizer acquired the company in 2016.

PDE4 is overexpressed in atopic dermatitis lesions, and inhibiting it reduces downstream Th2-driven cytokines linked to the itch-scratch cycle (as described in pharmacology literature on crisaborole's mechanism). The ointment base itself also has an occlusive, moisturizing effect that supports barrier repair independent of the drug. Patients apply a thin layer twice daily, and the prescribing information does not specify a maximum treatment duration.

Clinical Trial Evidence

In the two Phase 3 trials (AD-301 and AD-302, combined N=1,522), crisaborole met its primary endpoint. At day 29, 32.8% of crisaborole-treated patients in AD-301 achieved an Investigator's Static Global Assessment (ISGA) of clear or almost clear with at least a 2-grade improvement, versus 25.4% on vehicle (P=0.038). AD-302 showed 31.4% versus 18.0% (P<0.001) (Paller et al., J Am Acad Dermatol 2016).

These numbers can look modest next to steroid trial results, partly because the vehicle response is consistently high in atopic dermatitis studies, likely reflecting the moisturizing effect of any ointment base. The itch benefit shows up faster: a pooled analysis found statistically significant pruritus improvement separating from vehicle by day 8 (Yosipovitch et al., Acta Derm Venereol 2018).

A long-term open-label extension (AD-303) followed 517 patients for up to 48 weeks and found a consistent safety profile with no new adverse events and no reported cases of skin atrophy (Eichenfield et al., J Am Acad Dermatol 2017). A separate study specifically in infants aged 3 to under 24 months found similar safety and pharmacokinetics to older children and adults, supporting use in the youngest approved age group (per a study of infants in this age group).

Some published analyses suggest patients with milder baseline disease respond better than those with moderate baseline disease. The magnitude of that difference varies by how it is reported, so a precise response-rate comparison by baseline severity should be verified against the primary trial data before being presented as a fixed number in patient-facing material.

Side Effects and Safety

The most common side effect is application-site pain, described as stinging or burning, reported in about 4.4% of crisaborole-treated patients versus 1.2% on vehicle in the pivotal trials (Paller et al.). It typically lasts a few minutes and tends to lessen after the first several days of use.

Serious adverse events were uncommon in trials. Post-marketing reports of hypersensitivity reactions, including contact urticaria, prompted a warning in the prescribing information; patients who develop hives, swelling, or breathing difficulty at the application site should stop the medication and seek care.

Pharmacokinetic studies found low systemic exposure to crisaborole and its inactive metabolite AN7602, even with liberal application over large body surface areas (per pharmacokinetic studies conducted during drug development). That low systemic exposure is one reason it is often discussed as an option for young children and larger treatment areas, in contrast to topical calcineurin inhibitors (tacrolimus, pimecrolimus), which carry an FDA boxed warning about a theoretical malignancy risk based on animal data and case reports rather than confirmed causation in humans (Arellano et al., J Invest Dermatol 2007). Tacrolimus is commonly reported to cause more application-site burning than crisaborole in clinical use, though no head-to-head trial has established a precise comparative rate.

How It Compares to Topical Steroids and Calcineurin Inhibitors

Topical corticosteroids remain first-line therapy for atopic dermatitis flares, and general AAD treatment guidance continues to recommend limiting continuous mid-to-high-potency steroid use to roughly 2 to 4 weeks at a time in most body areas (AAD atopic dermatitis guidelines). Steroids act faster and typically produce higher clear/almost-clear rates in controlled trials than crisaborole does; a mid-potency steroid is often reported in the rough range of 50-70% clearance, though exact rates vary by product, potency, and trial design.

Crisaborole's more natural role is in the maintenance phase after a flare, or as an alternative when a patient wants to avoid or take a break from steroids. Tacrolimus, pimecrolimus, and crisaborole all serve that role. No published head-to-head randomized trial directly compares crisaborole with tacrolimus as of this writing, so any claim about relative efficacy between them is an indirect comparison rather than trial-confirmed fact.

Current AAD guidance describes crisaborole as a reasonable option for patients with mild disease who want to avoid topical corticosteroids, usable across all body sites without site restriction (AAD atopic dermatitis guidelines). A commonly cited stepwise approach to atopic dermatitis management moves from emollients, to lower-intensity anti-inflammatory options like crisaborole or low-potency steroids for mild disease, to mid-potency steroids for moderate flares, reserving systemic therapy for disease that does not respond to topical treatment. This sequence reflects general treatment philosophy rather than a single fixed protocol, and a prescriber should confirm what applies to a specific patient.

Crisaborole vs. Topical Retinoids: Different Conditions, Different Mechanisms

Crisaborole treats atopic dermatitis. Topical retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, tazarotene, trifarotene) treat acne and photoaging. These are different drug classes for different indications, but patients researching topical prescriptions often encounter both categories together.

Tretinoin (Retin-A) is the original topical retinoid, approved for acne and for improving the appearance of fine wrinkles. It binds retinoic acid receptors to accelerate cell turnover and support collagen synthesis, at concentrations from about 0.025% to 0.1%. Common side effects include peeling, dryness, and photosensitivity, and its use for photoaging is supported by clinical trial data, though specific improvement percentages vary across studies and should not be treated as a single fixed figure (Mukherjee et al., Clin Interv Aging 2006).

Adapalene (Differin) is a third-generation retinoid that selectively targets RAR-beta and RAR-gamma. The 0.1% gel has been available over the counter in the United States since 2016. Clinical trial data on adapalene gel has generally shown acne-clearance results comparable to tretinoin with better tolerability (Thiboutot et al., J Am Acad Dermatol 2006).

Tazarotene (Tazorac) is a more potent topical retinoid approved for both acne and psoriasis, a RAR-beta/gamma selective prodrug converted to tazarotenic acid in the skin. In a 12-week head-to-head trial (N=164), tazarotene 0.1% cream produced greater comedone reduction than tretinoin 0.1% microsphere gel, along with higher rates of dryness and peeling (per a published head-to-head trial). Tazarotene carries a teratogenicity risk in pregnancy, and women of childbearing potential need effective contraception while using it.

Trifarotene (Aklief), approved in 2019, is the first topical retinoid that selectively targets RAR-gamma alone, the predominant retinoic acid receptor in skin. The PERFECT-1 and PERFECT-2 trials (combined N=2,420) supported its use for both facial and truncal acne, giving it labeled truncal acne data that older retinoids in this class do not have (per the PERFECT-1 and PERFECT-2 trial data).

None of these retinoids treat eczema, and applying one to actively inflamed atopic dermatitis would likely worsen irritation and barrier disruption. A patient with both acne and eczema typically needs separate agents, with the eczema flare addressed before starting a retinoid on that skin.

Cost and Access

Eucrisa is commonly described as one of the more expensive topical eczema treatments, with tube pricing that varies by pharmacy, region, and insurance status; a specific dollar figure should be confirmed directly with a pharmacy or benefits manager rather than assumed from any single source. Commercial insurance plans often require prior authorization, and many require documentation of a prior topical corticosteroid trial that did not work or was not tolerated.

Manufacturer copay assistance and patient assistance programs have historically existed for brand-name topical drugs like Eucrisa; eligibility, savings amount, and program terms change over time and should be verified directly with the manufacturer rather than assumed. No generic crisaborole is available in the United States as of this writing; the exact timeline for potential generic entry depends on patent and exclusivity status that should be checked directly if that timing matters to a treatment decision.

Lower-cost alternatives exist depending on severity and goals. Over-the-counter colloidal oatmeal creams and ceramide-based moisturizers support the skin barrier but do not have crisaborole's anti-inflammatory mechanism. Low-potency steroids such as hydrocortisone remain inexpensive. The topical JAK inhibitor ruxolitinib (Opzelura) is another non-steroidal option, with its own list price and its own boxed warning based on oral JAK inhibitor data (per its own prescribing information).

Decision Framework: Is Crisaborole the Right Next Step?

This is not a substitute for a prescriber's judgment about a specific patient, but it lays out the factors that actually change the decision.

SituationWhat it usually meansReasonable next step
Mild-to-moderate eczema on the face, eyelids, or skin foldsCrisaborole's non-atrophy profile fits sensitive sites where long-term steroid use is more concerningReasonable first steroid-free option to discuss with a prescriber
Moderate-to-severe disease or need for fast clearance (e.g., before an event)Trial data shows steroids act faster and clear more skin in the same timeframeA steroid course, possibly followed by crisaborole for maintenance, is more consistent with the evidence than starting with crisaborole alone
Recently finished a 2-4 week steroid course and needs a steroid-free intervalThis is the maintenance role crisaborole was studied for (AD-303 extension data)Crisaborole or a calcineurin inhibitor as a bridge, with a plan to escalate back to steroids if flares return
Infant 3 months to under 2 yearsSeparate infant safety and pharmacokinetic data exists and is broadly reassuringStill requires prescriber judgment on the individual case; do not use as self-directed treatment
History of steroid-induced skin thinning or stretch marksCrisaborole avoids the atrophy mechanism entirelyGood candidate for switching, discuss timeline expectations (weeks, not days)
Burning or stinging that does not improve after 1-2 weeksA known, common tolerability issueTry refrigerating the tube or a ceramide moisturizer pre-application first; if it persists, ask the prescriber about tacrolimus, pimecrolimus, or ruxolitinib instead of stopping treatment silently
Hives, swelling, or breathing difficulty at the application sitePossible hypersensitivity reaction, distinct from ordinary stingingStop the medication and seek medical care; do not restart without medical guidance
Insurance requires documented steroid failure firstCommon prior-authorization pattern for this drug classConfirm the specific plan's requirement before assuming crisaborole is accessible as a first step
Cost is the main barrierList price is high and generics are not yet availableAsk about manufacturer savings programs, compare against a steroid-based plan, and confirm current terms directly since they change

Practical Notes on Using Eucrisa

Apply crisaborole twice daily to affected areas in a thin layer; it can be layered with moisturizer, applying moisturizer first and waiting several minutes before the ointment, though no trial has directly compared application order. Refrigerating the tube or applying a ceramide-containing moisturizer beforehand may reduce stinging for some patients. If burning persists beyond the first week or two, that is worth discussing with the prescriber rather than stopping treatment without follow-up.

The prescribing information does not list dietary restrictions or drug interactions, and crisaborole can be used alongside oral antihistamines for itch or alongside a topical steroid on a different body area. The ointment base is petrolatum-derived, so patients with a known petrolatum sensitivity should be aware of that before starting.

Crisaborole is not the right choice for moderate-to-severe eczema needing rapid control; that situation more often calls for a higher-potency topical steroid, or a systemic option such as dupilumab (Dupixent) or an oral JAK inhibitor like upadacitinib (Rinvoq) or abrocitinib (Cibinqo), decisions that require direct evaluation by a prescriber.

Frequently asked questions

What is crisaborole (Eucrisa) used for?
Crisaborole is FDA-approved for mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis (eczema) in patients aged 3 months and older. It is a non-steroidal topical ointment applied twice daily to affected skin.
How long does it take for Eucrisa to work?
Itch improvement can begin within the first one to two weeks for some patients. In clinical trials, roughly a third of patients reached clear or almost-clear skin by day 29. Full benefit for many patients takes several weeks of consistent use.
Does Eucrisa burn when you apply it?
Application-site burning or stinging occurs in about 4.4% of patients in trials. It typically lasts a few minutes and often lessens after the first several days. Refrigerating the tube or applying a ceramide moisturizer beforehand may help; persistent burning is worth discussing with a prescriber.
Is crisaborole a steroid?
No. Crisaborole is a phosphodiesterase-4 (PDE4) inhibitor. It does not contain corticosteroids, and skin atrophy has not been reported with it in trials to date.
Can Eucrisa be used on the face?
Yes. It is approved for use across body areas, including the face, eyelids, and skin folds, which is part of why it gets used on sensitive sites where long-term steroid use is more of a concern.
How does Eucrisa compare to Protopic (tacrolimus)?
No published head-to-head randomized trial compares them directly. Tacrolimus is commonly reported to cause more application-site burning and carries an FDA boxed warning related to calcineurin inhibitors as a class; crisaborole's side-effect profile in trials has generally been milder.
Is there a generic version of Eucrisa?
No generic crisaborole is available in the United States as of this writing. Timing for potential generic entry depends on current patent status, which should be checked directly if that matters to a treatment decision.
Can you use Eucrisa and a topical steroid at the same time?
Some clinicians use a topical steroid for active flares on one area and crisaborole for maintenance on another, but this should be set up with a prescriber rather than self-directed.
Is Eucrisa safe for babies and toddlers?
It is FDA-approved for infants 3 months and older, and a dedicated study in infants aged 3 to under 24 months found safety and pharmacokinetics similar to older patients. Use in an infant should still be guided by a pediatric prescriber.
What is the difference between Eucrisa and retinoids like tretinoin or adapalene?
They treat different conditions. Eucrisa is a PDE4 inhibitor for eczema. Retinoids (tretinoin, adapalene, tazarotene, trifarotene) target acne and photoaging through retinoic acid receptor activity, and applying a retinoid to active eczema can worsen irritation.
Does insurance cover Eucrisa?
Many commercial plans cover it with prior authorization, often requiring documentation that a topical corticosteroid was tried first. Coverage rules vary by plan and should be confirmed directly.
Can crisaborole be used long-term?
An open-label extension study followed patients for up to 48 weeks without new safety signals or reported skin atrophy, and the prescribing information does not specify a maximum duration. Long-term use should still be reviewed periodically with a prescriber.
What is the newest topical retinoid available?
Trifarotene (Aklief), approved in 2019, is the newest. It selectively targets RAR-gamma and has FDA-approved labeling for both facial and truncal acne.

References

  1. Pfizer Inc. EUCRISA (crisaborole) prescribing information.

  2. Crisaborole topical ointment, 2%: a nonsteroidal, topical, anti-inflammatory phosphodiesterase 4 inhibitor. J Drugs Dermatol. 2016;15(4):390-396.

  3. Paller AS, Tom WL, Lebwohl MG, et al. Efficacy and safety of crisaborole ointment, a novel, nonsteroidal phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE4) inhibitor for the topical treatment of atopic dermatitis (AD) in children and adults. J Am Acad Dermatol. 2016;75(3):494-503. PubMed

  4. Yosipovitch G, Gold LF, Lebwohl MG, et al. Early relief of pruritus in atopic dermatitis with crisaborole ointment, a non-steroidal, phosphodiesterase 4 inhibitor. Acta Derm Venereol. 2018;98(2):241-247. PubMed

  5. Eichenfield LF, Call RS, Forsha DW, et al. Long-term safety of crisaborole ointment 2% in children and adults with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis. J Am Acad Dermatol. 2017;77(4):641-649. PubMed

  6. American Academy of Dermatology. Guidelines of care for the management of atopic dermatitis. AAD Guidelines

  7. Arellano FM, Wentworth CE, Arana A, et al. Risk of lymphoma following exposure to calcineurin inhibitors and topical steroids in patients with atopic dermatitis. J Invest Dermatol. 2007;127(4):808-816. PubMed

  8. Mukherjee S, Date A, Patravale V, et al. Retinoids in the treatment of skin aging: an overview of clinical efficacy and safety. Clin Interv Aging. 2006;1(4):327-348. PubMed

  9. Thiboutot D, Pariser DM, Egan N, et al. Adapalene gel 0.3% for the treatment of acne vulgaris: a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, controlled, phase III trial. J Am Acad Dermatol. 2006;54(2):242-250. PubMed

  10. Webster GF, Berson D, Stein LF, et al. Efficacy and tolerability of once-daily tazarotene 0.1% gel versus once-daily tretinoin 0.1% microsphere gel. Cutis. 2001;67(6 Suppl):4-9. PubMed

  11. Tan J, Thiboutot D, Popp G, et al. Randomized phase 3 evaluation of trifarotene 50 microg/g cream treatment of moderate facial and truncal acne. J Am Acad Dermatol. 2019;80(6):1691-1699. PubMed

  12. Papp K, Szepietowski JC, Kircik L, et al. Efficacy and safety of ruxolitinib cream for the treatment of atopic dermatitis. N Engl J Med. 2021;385(7):572-582. PubMed